Yīn and Yáng Fist – Part 3

Zhàn Zhuāng 站樁 – Standing Mediation

Tàijíquán 太極拳 is based on a circle and the Tàijí symbol. Xíng Yì Quán 形意拳 – Shape and Mind Fist, is based on a straight line and Bāguà Zhǎng 八卦掌 – Eight Situations Palm is also based on a circle, but requires more body turning and even spinning around 180 degrees.

Tàijíquán was created in by Chén Wáng Tíng 陳王廷 (1600-1680) in Chénjiāgōu 陳家溝,Hénán Shěng 河南省 – Hénán Province. Xíng Yì Quán was created by Jī Jì Kě 姬際可(1602-1680) from Shānxī Shěng 山西省 – Shanxi Province, though some also believe it was created by Yuè Fēi 岳飛 (1103-1142). Bāguà Zhǎng was created by Dǒng Hǎi Chuān 董海川(1797-1882),  from Héběi Shěng 河北省 – Hebei Province.

These three styles are the most famous Nèi Jiā Quán 內家拳 – Internal Fist. They seem to be soft and gentle, but when each style releases power, Fā Jìn 發勁 it is very powerful and comes from the whole body. Each also focuses on developing Qì 氣 and has Zhàn Zhuāng 站樁 – Standing Mediation, which is practised for a very long time, to make the Qì full and to make the legs and bones strong and powerful. Nèi Jiā Quán also focuses on Jīng 精 – Sexual Energy, Qì 氣 – Vital Energy and Shén 神 – Spiritual Energy. So, they develop the sexual energy into vital energy and then they reach spiritual energy. This training makes us healthy, powerful and wise. They are also not limited by age, a lot of martial arts are only suitable for young people and not for older people.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.