Yīn and Yáng Fist – Part 4

Sūn Lù Táng 孫祿堂 (1860-1934

In China, the three major styles of Nèi Jiā Quán 內家拳 – Internal Fist are, Tàijíquán 太極拳, Xíng Yì Quán 形意拳 and Bāguà Zhǎng 八卦掌. There are many people who like to learn all three of them, but in order to become good in just one style of Kung Fu can take a lifetime. However, I believe that you can begin one and then after a couple of years you can try another, and then after a another year, start a third. If you can become good in one style of Kung Fu, then you can be good in all of them. The famous master, Sūn Lù Táng 孫祿堂 (1860-1934) first studied Xíng Yì Quán, then he learnt Bāguà Zhǎng and finally he reached a very high level in Tàijíquán, and there a lot of interesting stories about him, Also he created Sun Style Taijiquan.

For myself, I started with Wing Chun Kuan 詠春拳, then Chén Shì Tàijíquán 陈式太极拳 –  Chén Style Tàijíquán, Dàyàn Qìgōng 大雁氣功, Hard Qigong and Shàolín Quán 少林拳 (which later became Chùn Yuén Quán 俊元拳).  Perhaps because I study all these things, I might not reach the highest level, but I have reached a very good standard that not many people can easily reach. The most important thing for me is that I have found the principle of the skills and developed them to a standard close to my teachers and have good health.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.